Route Mobile App: Privacy & Data FAQ

Follow

Have questions about how Route handles privacy and data on the mobile app? Read below.

Why do we need access to your email for Route+ orders?

We ask you to sign up for Route with your email so we can verify that you are the owner of the account before we show you your Route+ orders.

Why do we need access to your email to track your orders?

The purpose of granting us read-only access to your account is a convenience feature to save you time—if you don’t want to manually enter or forward every order.

There are ways to track your packages without granting us access to your Gmail account. You can manually add a tracking link to Route or forward your e-receipts to us.

To track an order manually by adding a tracking number,

  1. Click “+” on your Order History screen.
  2. Add your tracking number.
  3. Click add order.

If you would rather forward an e-receipt with a tracking number to Route, please forward it to tracking@orders.route.com. Just make sure to forward it from the email that is linked to your Route account.

Do you sell my data to third parties?

No, Route never sells any user data to third parties.

How do you protect my data?

Protecting your data is our number one priority. In order to allow you to login using Gmail, we first underwent an extensive audit from Google’s privacy team to ensure we were protecting your data.

A few ways we protect your data:

  • We encrypt your data at 3 levels HTTPS, on disk, and application encryption.
  • Our application encryption keys are frequently rotated. 
  • We do not sell any user data to third parties.
  • We use multi-factor authentication to protect our internal systems.